Gas Turbine Builders Association

The Gas Turbine Builders Association (GTBA), formerly known as the Gas Turbine Builders Contact Group (GTBCG), was started in the Summer of 1995 to encourage the exchange of information relating to the construction and operation of model gas turbines, originally focusing on the Schreckling FD3/64 and then the Kamps Microturbine. Members are encouraged to contribute their ideas, experiences and developments through the online forum. Information is also regularly updated on sources of material and services available from individual members. Details of significant improvements to the original FD3/64 and Kamps engines have been published and new designs of engines such as the KJ66, PT75 and MW54 became available from within the Group.

More recently, the GTBA has been concentrating on the "GTBA Engine Project". This projects includes a range of engines designed to be easy to build from materials that are relatively easy to source. The project engines all have similar design structure and are based on turbocharger rotor parts.

GTBA committee members

President : Prof. Geoff Kirk
Vice President : Tom Wilkinson
Chairman : James V.G. Hill
Secretary : Tim Coles
Treasurer : Jon Burrell
Membership Secretary : Post Vacant
Events Sec: Post Vacant
Safety Officer : Post Vacant
Public Relations : Post Vacant
Webmaster : Post Vacant
News Editor : Rob Boss
Technical Adviser : Nick Howarth
GTBA Representative to the BMFA : James V.G. Hill

Constitution of the GTBA